Showing posts with label #Oklahoma. Show all posts
Showing posts with label #Oklahoma. Show all posts

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Blanche Day Manos, A Cozy Mystery and a Giveaway

I am honored to welcome one of my favorite cozy mystery writers Blanche Day Manos to Writing with God's Hope blog today. I love her Darcy and Flora tales, so I can't wait for this new one to release. Tell us about it, Blanche.



Summer storms can bring unwelcome surprises.

During the rainiest July on record for the people of Ventris County in Oklahoma, in the midst of a violent thunderstorm, a stranger is murdered. When a friend becomes the second person to die under suspicious circumstances, local sleuth Darcy Campbell is drawn into the investigation. Evidence points toward someone she cares about, but has loyalty blinded her to the truth?
Danger is closer to Darcy and her mother, Flora, than either of them suspect. And if the human threat is not enough, Lee Creek and the Ventris River flood, bringing Mother Nature into the fray. 

Has the whole world turned on Darcy and Flora?

 

     The above paragraph pretty much describes the newest cozy mystery by Blanche Day Manos, Grave Heritage.  Fans of Darcy Campbell and Flora Tucker will recognize this book as the fourth in a series, following The Cemetery Club, Grave Shift, and Best Left Buried. It is available for pre-order now from the publisher, http://www.pen-l.com/GraveHeritage.html which will give you a chance to win a signed, free copy, or pre-order a Kindle book from Amazon: Darcy-Flora-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01KPDTHX2.

Launch Date is September 19.

     Why, you might ask, would a mild-mannered retired teacher of young children want to write mysteries? Why not children’s stories, or inspirational pieces? Actually, Blanche has written these too, but mysteries is her favorite genre to read; therefore, it is her favorite genre to write.

     In the Darcy and Flora books, Darcy Campbell returns to her hometown of Levi, Oklahoma after the death of her husband Jake. Going to her childhood home to live with her mother Flora Tucker, Darcy expects peace and quiet and healing. Instead of a tranquil life, Darcy encounters greedy men, murderous secrets, and deadly danger. Mysteries swirl just beneath the surface of placid-looking Levi and some people want to keep them hidden. Darcy and Flora find themselves deeply embroiled in tracking down the bad guys.

     In addition to the four Darcy and Flora cozies, Blanche has written the first book of a new series, Moonlight Can Be Murder. The protagonist, Nettie McNeil, faces danger when a deranged killer tries to add her to the list of murder victims. The entire story takes place during the month of December, a snowy month filled with renewed acquaintances, reviving a long-ago murder, and a killer who will stop at nothing to keep a secret.

     You may read more about Blanche on her website: http://www.blanchedaymanos.com/, or from these additional sites:




Check also for books 1, 2, and 3 of the series. I highly recommend them.


Book 1

 
Book 2

 
Book 3

Thank you, Blanche, for sharing with us about book 4. Time to get in my preorder for that one and recommend it to all my viewers. If you like Christian fiction and cozy mysteries, this one is a win-win.
Don't forget: If you preorder before Sept. 19, you enter the drawing to possibly win a free signed copy.


Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Haunted Jed Johnson Lake, Oklahoma

A favorite day trip from Wichita Falls, Texas is the Wichita Mountain Wildlife Refuge in South Central, Oklahoma, near Lawton. If we travel a little over an hour, we reach a destination filled with wonder and fun. Buffalo, deer, and Longhorn cattle dot the plains. Mountains, tall on the Oklahoma horizon, rise in jagged peaks and form rocky canyons. For the fisherman, the park sports thirteen lakes. Children ooh and ah over the animals and run free over the boulders. The view from the peaks is breath-taking. For Christians, one area is reminiscent of Israel during Jesus' time on earth. Each year, this Holy City is the setting for an outdoor Easter pageant.

My husband and I drive to the top of Mount Scott, the highest peak in the Wichita Mountain chain. The next stop is usually the Holy City. Once, when we had our grandsons for a visit, we parked and hiked around Jed Johnson Lake. An old tower built in the 1930s stands guard over one end of the lake. The youngest grandson wanted to climb up the tower steps, but the way was blocked.


Since then, I have discovered that perhaps there's more than one reason why the steps are closed to that tower. The ghost of a woman who ran her car off the road and into the lake to drown was seen in that tower by explorers and workers alike. Wow, am I glad we didn't venture in. The outside was strange enough with its tall, thin stature like a park sentinel.

Still, it's rather fun to imagine a ghost in this remote location. When you're there, few people pass your way. An imagination could play tricks on those who dare.


For information on many other Oklahoma ghost legends, go to the blog for Haunted Oklahoma at:  http://hauntedoklahoma.blogspot.com/?m=1


Do you have a ghost legend a day trip away?